Breaking news

Wednesday, 18 August 2010
The Union Gallery will host a free talk on Thursday 19 August by Bill Hare, Honorary Curator of the Art In Healthcare Collection and a lecturer in Scottish art at Edinburgh University.Art in...
Tuesday, 17 August 2010
Broughton Street's Villeneuve Wines are reintroducing their informal, semi-tutored tasting-sessions, starting on Thursday 26 August.For £10 each, around 20 participants will convene at 7:30pm...
Monday, 16 August 2010
The plan by the Cameron Guest House Group (CGHG) to convert offices at 34-8 York Place into a cheap hotel have been withdrawn (see Breaking news, 1.5.10).No reason was given by the firm's agent, but...
Sunday, 15 August 2010
Bellevue Road residents are mystified and annoyed by strange nocturnal goings-on.On Sunday morning (16 August) the Finlaysons woke to find their front garden bench was missing, replaced by two...
Saturday, 14 August 2010
Broughton St Mary's Parish Church on Bellevue Crescent are seeking craftspeople for their fund-raising sale on Saturday 23 October,10:30am–1:00pm. Tables are available – small £5.00, larger ones £10...
Friday, 13 August 2010
The two, local, flood-flattened Gormleys in the Water of Leith (Breaking news, 22.7.10) have been helped to their feet in the last few days.Divers, crane operators and men waving their arms about re-...
Friday, 13 August 2010
In an uncertain world, there is something reassuring about librarians: that combination of faith in the power of published ideas, confidence in the safe storage and rational organisation of thought....
Thursday, 12 August 2010
Tommy Fitchet grew up in Dundee, moved via Glasgow and London to Arran, and recently – at first reluctantly – realised Edinburgh was the place to further his career as an easily accessible and mobile...
Tuesday, 10 August 2010
Singer/songwriter/performer Hannah Reade is organising a not-for-profit 'micro-festival', or 'informal performance, workshop, and discussion space' or 'Fringe of the Fringe' in the Pilrig Street home...
Monday, 9 August 2010
The Yakety Yak Language Café has announced local venues for its informal foreign-language conversation sessions.Small interested groups, matched for current ability, meet to chat in French, Italian,...

Pages

Subscribe to Spurtle - Breaking news