Skip to main content


Submitted by Editor on

In the General Election, Edinburgh North & Leith constituency, 78,411 people were registered to vote. There was a 63% turnout (13.6% down on 2019). This compares with a 64.09% turnout across Edinburgh as a whole. 


The votes were diivided as follows:


Tracy Gilbert (Scottish Labour Party), pictured: votes, 20,805 (42.1%); shift, +20.4.


Deidre Brock (Scottish National Party): votes, 13,537 (27.4%); shift, –16.4.


Kayleigh O’Neill (Scottish Green Party): votes, 5,417 (10.9%), shift, +7.6.


Mike Andersen (Scottish Liberal Democrats): votes, 3,879 (7.8%); shift, –4.7.


Joanna Mowat (Scottish Conservative & Unionist Party): votes, 3,254 (6.6%); shift, –11.


Alan Melville (Reform UK): votes, 1,818 (3.7%); shift, +2.8.


David Jacobsen (Socialist Labour Party): votes, 227 (0.5%), shift, +0.5.


Niel Deepnarain (Scottish Family Party –  Defending Traditional Values): votes, 210 (0.4%), shift, +0.4.


Richard Shillcock (Communist Party of Britain): votes, 189 (0.4%); shift, +0.4.


Caroline Waterloo (—): votes, 139 (0.3%); shift, +0.3.


Edinburgh skyline


The Returning Officer for Edinburgh, Paul Lawrence, said: ‘I’d like to sincerely thank our fantastic colleagues in the Elections team and across the Council for their hard work, dedication, and diligence in what has been a challenging election to deliver under tight timescales. 


‘This is truly public service at its very best and one of the most important duties that we’re bound to carry out. I’d also like to thank Police Scotland, the candidates, agents, and media for working alongside us to conduct proceedings properly and efficiently. 


‘Our new MPs have my best wishes and I’m sure they will all be great representatives of our city and its people. 


‘Finally, I’d like to thank our residents for making their voices heard and taking the time to cast their votes.’

McDonald Rd library