Letters

Friday, 14 August 2020
Dear Spurtle, The abruptly cancelled August Leith Central Community Council meeting was to have included a presentation and Q&A on Drum’s…
Tuesday, 28 July 2020
Dear Spurtle,  Lots of talk about Broughton Street redevelopment. Lots of talk about safety etc., but just along the road another major…
Friday, 24 July 2020
Dear Spurtle, There are half-a-dozen varieties of swift in Europe; and I personally can claim a ‘first’, by identifying Alpine swifts (bigger,…
Tuesday, 30 June 2020
Dear Spurtle, After three-and-a-half long months, many of us independent retailers finally opened our doors again yesterday.  Messages of support…
Wednesday, 19 February 2020
Dear Spurtle,  In times when we are increasingly expect to know where our sausages come from and who writes the books we read, I’m surprised…
Monday, 03 February 2020
Dear Spurtle, In your February issue (Briefly, p. 2), your in-house 'awkward squad' rightly points out that this site is not in Leith…
Wednesday, 04 December 2019
Dear Spurtle,  This is a bit distasteful, sorry – but has there been an increase in human defecation in public places around Broughton…
Sunday, 24 November 2019
Dear Spurtle, I was somewhat surprised to see that Edinburgh Council is to…
Thursday, 24 October 2019
Dear Spurtle,Earlier this year, the City Council told me that pavement replacement…
Friday, 11 October 2019
Dear Spurtle, The Irish Government appears somewhat hypocritical in expressing concern at possible post Brexit border controls after it was they…
Wednesday, 09 October 2019
Dear Spurtle, The final stage of the Transport (Scotland) Bill will be on the…
Tuesday, 06 August 2019
Dear Spurtle,  The mosaic shown in this month’s Spurtle (Issue 287) ……
Monday, 29 July 2019
Dear Spurtle,  Re: 'How Reliable, How Waterproof'Between 2 November and 10 December 2004, a Public Inquiry heard evidence from Edinburgh Council…
Wednesday, 10 July 2019
Dear Spurtle,Re: 'Water of Leith Flood Prevention Scheme'.Rainfall in Scotland can hardly be described as an unexpected occurrence, and an…
Thursday, 02 May 2019
Dear Spurtle,  As a supporter of railways and routes being saved, I wondered if anyone had thought of the idea of the old Powderhall waste…
Monday, 29 April 2019
Dear Spurtle, I have an elderly neighbour who says that a major problem with…
Sunday, 14 April 2019
Dear Spurtle,  I am regularly incensed, and rather than rant vocally I do so in rhyme. I sent you a poem about seagulls and bin bags a few…
Wednesday, 10 April 2019
Dear Spurtle, My wife and I have just moved to Bellevue Crescent from London – or, at least, we’re on our way.  I walked past our future…
Wednesday, 10 April 2019
Dear Spurtle, Regarding the frog searching for a pond around Drummond Place (…
Saturday, 06 April 2019
Dear Spurtle,I was anticipating a feature on the unfortunate carving that has…