Letters

Monday, 07 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam, If the cringeworthy uniform to be worn by Scots competitors at the…
Friday, 27 June 2014
Dear Spurtle  Mansfield Traquair have seen fit to lay on a piper to play out their 'guests' at 11.15pm each night for three consecutive nights…
Monday, 02 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,I object strongly to being compelled to contribute to the over-inflated salaries of Chief Executives of charities I have no wish to…
Monday, 12 May 2014
Dear Spurtle The current vociferous campaign against Halal and Shechita slaughter of food animals is a transparent excuse to get away with showing…
Monday, 12 May 2014
Dear Spurtle I remember the dairy in that location well [Breaking news, 23.4.14…
Friday, 09 May 2014
Dear Spurtle I came home yesterday to see a pair of drunk men emerge from Ladbroke’s and throw their rubbish over the railings into the communal…
Thursday, 24 April 2014
Dear Spurtle I hope you can hear me out! I am not usually one to air my views,…
Wednesday, 16 April 2014
Dear Spurtle At last, the huge mounds of rubble in Shrub Place are being removed…
Thursday, 10 April 2014
Dear Editor Following the acquittal of Nicky Jacobs over the murder of PC Keith Blakelock, Metropolitan Police Assistant Commissioner Mark Rowley…
Thursday, 10 April 2014
Dear Editor I was appalled to read about the thoughtless dumping of food beside a communal street wheelie bin in Bellevue (Breaking news, 9.4.14).…
Tuesday, 25 March 2014
Dear Spurtle No 36 buses are trundling through Spurtleshire bearing the hideously ungrammatical slogan 'Get there greener'.   As greener is an…
Sunday, 16 March 2014
Dear Spurtle I was surprised and dismayed when told by a friend about the removal of trees and vegetation from the Sandy Hill (as we called the area…
Saturday, 22 February 2014
Dear Spurtle Edinburgh Council continues to complain to Network Rail about their overblown response at Waverley Station to an imaginary…
Saturday, 08 February 2014
Dear Spurtle I really do not understand why the Prime Minister has bothered to waste his breath in the Scottish Independence debate. Those of us…
Saturday, 01 February 2014
Hello Spurtle   Re: Missing light-up bollard in your article 'Good time to complain' [Issue 226]. I did complain – in good time – about three…
Friday, 31 January 2014
Sir  Allow me to congratulate you on the long overdue exposition of the historic role of the Broughton Burn in the context of the East…
Sunday, 22 December 2013
Dear Spurtle While it is good to see that the Leith Walk works have been getting a lot of attention thanks to your article [Breaking news, 17.12.13…
Wednesday, 18 December 2013
Dear SpurtleRe: 'Worsening communications threaten Leith Walk improvements' (Breaking news, 17.12.13)I'm happy to go on the record to say that I…
Thursday, 07 November 2013
Dear Editor Re: ‘Broughton Street Blot, Edinburgh Problem’ (Breaking news, 28.10.13) The Council recognises how vital it is that we all work…
Friday, 25 October 2013
Dear Sir/MadamTo those for whom environment is more important than industry, it's sad that the plants at Grangemouth are to re-open. The last week of…