Letters

Wednesday, 19 November 2014
Dear Spurtle The Scottish Parliament is to be congratulated on passing anti-alcohol legislation to reduce the blood/alcohol limit for motorists…
Tuesday, 04 November 2014
Dear Editor  No one likes to be confronted with a 300% price hike, which I note as you turn your guns on CEC's proposal to increase the rental…
Tuesday, 21 October 2014
Dear Spurtle  I was fortunate enough to be at last Wednesday’s Stockbridge and Inverleith Community Council (S&ICC) meeting which restored…
Thursday, 18 September 2014
Dear Editor Today, of all days, as the people of Scotland go to the polls to decide our future, the last thing I expected to receive from…
Thursday, 04 September 2014
Dear Sir/Madam I am getting increasingly confused by the rhetoric of Better Together.They say that if Scotland votes for independence there is ‘…
Wednesday, 03 September 2014
Dear Spurtle We recently bought a flat less than 100m from the St Stephen's bell, on Cumberland Street [Breaking news, 2.9.14; 3.9.14]. The…
Tuesday, 02 September 2014
Dear Spurtle Re your piece on 27 August ('Council consults on slower city'), one misconception that you have fallen into: slower traffic may be…
Wednesday, 27 August 2014
Dear Editor A question which seems neither to have been asked of nor answered by Alistair Darling and which may greatly influence voting intentions…
Wednesday, 20 August 2014
Dear Sir/Madam Claims that Scotland is being subsidised by England encourage me to vote 'No' in the Independence Referendum.Canny Scots should…
Wednesday, 06 August 2014
Dear Spurtle I, along with many other residents of Cumberland Street (West), have been highlighting the intolerable problem of discarded waste and…
Saturday, 02 August 2014
Dear SpurtleThe issue surrounding Sunday deliveries to cash-and-carry giant Batleys (54 depots in England, seven in Scotland) is a relatively simple…
Friday, 01 August 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,What price a national anthem for an independent Scotland?Clearly, the impoverished nation predicted by Better Together could never…
Monday, 21 July 2014
Dear Editor A colleague has had an application to incorporate an English and Welsh company rejected by Companies House in Cardiff on the grounds…
Monday, 07 July 2014
Dear Sir/Madam, If the cringeworthy uniform to be worn by Scots competitors at the…
Friday, 27 June 2014
Dear Spurtle  Mansfield Traquair have seen fit to lay on a piper to play out their 'guests' at 11.15pm each night for three consecutive nights…
Monday, 02 June 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,I object strongly to being compelled to contribute to the over-inflated salaries of Chief Executives of charities I have no wish to…
Monday, 12 May 2014
Dear Spurtle The current vociferous campaign against Halal and Shechita slaughter of food animals is a transparent excuse to get away with showing…
Monday, 12 May 2014
Dear Spurtle I remember the dairy in that location well [Breaking news, 23.4.14…
Friday, 09 May 2014
Dear Spurtle I came home yesterday to see a pair of drunk men emerge from Ladbroke’s and throw their rubbish over the railings into the communal…
Thursday, 24 April 2014
Dear Spurtle I hope you can hear me out! I am not usually one to air my views,…