Letters

Sunday, 22 December 2013
Dear Spurtle While it is good to see that the Leith Walk works have been getting a lot of attention thanks to your article [Breaking news, 17.12.13…
Wednesday, 18 December 2013
Dear SpurtleRe: 'Worsening communications threaten Leith Walk improvements' (Breaking news, 17.12.13)I'm happy to go on the record to say that I…
Thursday, 07 November 2013
Dear Editor Re: ‘Broughton Street Blot, Edinburgh Problem’ (Breaking news, 28.10.13) The Council recognises how vital it is that we all work…
Friday, 25 October 2013
Dear Sir/MadamTo those for whom environment is more important than industry, it's sad that the plants at Grangemouth are to re-open. The last week of…
Tuesday, 01 October 2013
Hello Spurtle This a rather late comment on your article last month regarding Tesco's makeover (Breaking news, 7.8.13). I wholeheartedly agree that…
Thursday, 29 August 2013
Dear Spurtle On a point of historical road construction interest, could I respectfully point out that Hugh Lockhart (Letters, 3.5.13) uses the term…
Tuesday, 23 July 2013
Dear Spurtle It has been most gratifying and appropriate to see the BBC announce the 8lb 6oz weight of the Royal Baby in Imperial units. Sadly, the…
Wednesday, 26 June 2013
Dear Sir/Madam The Chancellor of the Exchequer has announced that Social Security claimants will in future be required to attend compulsory English…
Friday, 21 June 2013
Dear Editor Whilst many travellers will be glad to see that Lothian Buses are to encourage use of their Night Bus services by allowing holders…
Monday, 10 June 2013
Dear SpurtleRe: Your recent article (Breaking news, 5.6.13).Kids not Suits* have, along with many other citizens, written to the Council's Policy and…
Thursday, 09 May 2013
Dear SpurtleIt is worth pointing out that there is to be a third phase of the Water of Leith Flood 'prevention' scheme, costed at £30m, bringing the…
Friday, 03 May 2013
Dear SpurtleI rather suspect your snippet from John Kyle about the Rocheid Path is a spoof [Issue 218]. I bicycle along it with my 10-year-old son on…
Monday, 11 March 2013
Dear SpurtleWhilst I empathise with our neighbours on Albany Street facing peak traffic levels of 500 vehicles per hour last year […
Thursday, 28 February 2013
Dear EditorI am astounded at Lothian and Borders Police's swift move to transfer to other divisions Hawick-based G Division officers and civilian…
Thursday, 17 January 2013
Dear Spurtle Whilst it is very sad for employees of Jessops, Blockbuster and HMV to lose their jobs at this time of year, the loss of these retail…
Monday, 12 November 2012
Dear Sir or Madam, Liaocheng Dongying Hengtong Metal Manufacturing Co.,Ltd here.Glad to hear that you are on the market for Automatic chicken…
Thursday, 08 November 2012
Dear Spurtle From a Dutch tourist, I recently learned that Amsterdam is having similar problems to Edinburgh's trams with the extension to their…
Wednesday, 26 September 2012
Dear SpurtleIt would have been nice if the Council had mentioned that the buses are now travelling the opposite way along the south side of York…
Wednesday, 05 September 2012
Dear SpurtleIn your latest issue you briefly reported a problem with a local HMO landlord (Issue 210, 'Briefly', p.2). However, brevity got in the…
Monday, 13 August 2012
Dear Spurtle Now that the circus is over, where is my free loaf?Yours faithfullyJohn Hein(Montgomery Street)