Letters

Wednesday, 07 December 2016
Dear Spurtle  Dare we hope – even ironically – for ‘high principles’ and ‘…
Thursday, 24 November 2016
Dear Spurtle My recent experience of the Borders Railway shows that the only…
Wednesday, 23 November 2016
Dear Spurtle  Tonight I approached a Tate & Lyle heavy goods…
Thursday, 10 November 2016
Dear Spurtle If Brexit is Brexit, that presumably means that Trump is Trump. But will it be a hard Trump or a soft one? John Eoin Douglas(…
Friday, 28 October 2016
Dear Spurtle In your current issue (No. 256) you refer to JCDecaux bus shelters being criticised for their ‘poor sightlines’.  That's…
Thursday, 06 October 2016
Dear Spurtle I was interested to read your article on the fire at the…
Saturday, 01 October 2016
Pursuing his interest in the remarkable longevity of George Street’s Tartan House of Scotland (Issue 256, p.3), Spurtle correspondent David Young…
Friday, 02 September 2016
Dear Spurtle In the last few weeks, the wasteland behind London Street (and opposite the empty new garage/dwelling/office) has become a dumping…
Monday, 29 August 2016
Dear Spurtle You mentioned the five carved figures at St James Episcopal Church at Goldenacre in your August number (Issue 254, p.4).It was as a…
Thursday, 21 July 2016
Dear Spurtle Good Samaritans exist! One evening in June, I managed to leave my wallet on steps near the London Street Grocers. A…
Friday, 08 July 2016
Dear Spurtle I was beginning to think that Spurtle’s cataloguing of Lesley Hinds’ “over commitment” had put a stop to the Environment…
Friday, 17 June 2016
Dear SpurtleThe European Commission provides a very handy multilingual app for mobile devices. It explains the workings of the European Health…
Monday, 06 June 2016
Dear Spurtle As the European Referendum fast approaches, I can garner little enthusiasm to vote either way.The IN campaign offers little more…
Friday, 13 May 2016
Dear SpurtleHolders of free bus passes issued under the National Concession Scheme to elderly and disabled people are currently unable to use them on…
Saturday, 07 May 2016
Dear SpurtleUpon reading some big yellow notices today, I was momentarily gratified to learn that Edinburgh Council's Roads Department was …
Saturday, 30 April 2016
Dear Spurtle  Walking past St Stephen’s Church this afternoon I was delighted to hear the sound of the clock striking three. True, the…
Friday, 15 April 2016
Dear SpurtleDavid Sterratt’s article ‘Piecing together what's gone wrong’ (12.4.16) was well written, well researched.It seems to me we need a…
Friday, 25 March 2016
Dear SpurtleFollowing the recent closure of Scotland's last coal-fired power…
Wednesday, 09 March 2016
Dear Spurtle Following your article on CEC spending in excess of £40,000 on the KEYFRAMES lights in St Andrew Square [Issue 249, p.1], for me it…
Wednesday, 02 March 2016
Dear Spurtle Readers must be weary of the constant recycling of stories about, er, recycling, but it seems to be an issue that just won't go…