Letters

Tuesday, 01 May 2018
Dear Spurtle Would it not have made sense to do this ‘reconstruction’ work before Bellevue Road was re-tarmacked?  Strikes me that there…
Thursday, 19 April 2018
Dear Spurtle Now that Edinburgh Council has published its eagerly awaited final plan for the new road layout in Picardy Place (Breaking news, 18…
Monday, 16 April 2018
Dear SpurtleRead your article regarding Pheasants (Issue 273, p.3).  I took…
Thursday, 05 April 2018
Dear Spurtle  Perhaps you’ve already heard about the trees that have gone…
Monday, 02 April 2018
Dear Spurtle A few years ago, the Edinburgh Evening News ran an April Fool story to the effect that, instead of going down Leith Walk,  the…
Monday, 05 March 2018
Dear Spurtle I have been singularly unimpressed at the reaction to a few…
Wednesday, 07 February 2018
Dear SpurtleI refer to the  piece in the your February edition ('Council…
Friday, 12 January 2018
Dear Spurtle  Am I being unduly cynical at the support from retailers for compulsory plastic bag charging? Apart from the few companies who…
Wednesday, 20 December 2017
Dear Spurtle The recent leak on the new British aircraft carrier HMS Queen Elizabeth is utterly irrelevant to the vessel’s future.…
Monday, 18 December 2017
Dear Spurtle In your report on the demise of the Leith Walk armadillos and…
Monday, 11 December 2017
Dear Spurtle I fail to understand what all the fuss is about the proposals for the reconstruction of Picardy Place.What is clearly needed is a…
Thursday, 07 December 2017
Dear Spurtle It’s deeply disturbing that Scotrail has cancelled all services on the Far North and West Highland lines in advance of Storm…
Wednesday, 01 November 2017
Dear Spurtle So, massive redundancies are forecast to occur in the London banking sector as a result of Brexit. Good, I say.These overpaid…
Friday, 27 October 2017
Dear Spurtle  I read the recent articles on Picardy Place and have just seen…
Monday, 23 October 2017
Dear Spurtle Oh joy! The Dome superbar/restaurant on George Street has done…
Saturday, 21 October 2017
Dear Spurtle I am appalled at the Scottish Government’s ill-considered intention to ban the reasonable chastisement of children by their parents…
Monday, 16 October 2017
Dear Spurtle I'm sure many will have welcomed the new 20mph speed limit, particularly  while attempting to cross the roads in Edinburgh.But…
Thursday, 12 October 2017
The pavement area outside Hectors Bar in Stockbridge is now so narrow that you have to stop, to allow oncoming pedestrians or mums with prams to…
Saturday, 02 September 2017
Dear Spurtle I am staying at the Travelodge in a room directly overlooking Malone's. I have asked to be moved – we can barely speak to each…
Tuesday, 01 August 2017
Dear Spurtle The long-awaited (surely 'long-dreaded'?) wheelie bins newly installed in London Street are not just ugly: they don't work […