Letters

Monday, 23 October 2017
Dear Spurtle Oh joy! The Dome superbar/restaurant on George Street has done…
Saturday, 21 October 2017
Dear Spurtle I am appalled at the Scottish Government’s ill-considered intention to ban the reasonable chastisement of children by their parents…
Monday, 16 October 2017
Dear Spurtle I'm sure many will have welcomed the new 20mph speed limit, particularly  while attempting to cross the roads in Edinburgh.But…
Thursday, 12 October 2017
The pavement area outside Hectors Bar in Stockbridge is now so narrow that you have to stop, to allow oncoming pedestrians or mums with prams to…
Saturday, 02 September 2017
Dear Spurtle I am staying at the Travelodge in a room directly overlooking Malone's. I have asked to be moved – we can barely speak to each…
Tuesday, 01 August 2017
Dear Spurtle The long-awaited (surely 'long-dreaded'?) wheelie bins newly installed in London Street are not just ugly: they don't work […
Monday, 31 July 2017
Dear Spurtle  I wonder ... Is there any way that Spurtle can tactfully do…
Wednesday, 26 July 2017
Dear Spurtle I am a grandfather with a lively 2-year old. Over the summer I have been filling in large gaps in railings across the New Town…
Friday, 14 July 2017
Dear Spurtle I must object in particular to the headline used for a recent front page story ('Bid to fix human problems in city centre', Issue…
Sunday, 28 May 2017
Dear SpurtleThe Conservative bar chart that you featured on 18 May looked to me like the oldest trick in the book, namely an offset zero. But when I…
Monday, 22 May 2017
Hi Spurtle For around 4–6 months now, the black skips/bins at the bottom end of East Claremont street have been encroaching on parking spaces…
Friday, 05 May 2017
Dear SpurtleWhilst attempting to arrange a lift to the Polling Station yesterday morning, I was somewhat discomfited when the Greens told me to walk…
Tuesday, 11 April 2017
Hi Spurtle I'm a local resident and, having read your April 2017 edition about the Leith Street road closure to vehicles, I would like to put…
Tuesday, 04 April 2017
Dear SpurtleWhile fully supporting everything else in your piece about the squalor at the top of Broughton Street ['Grotty top of Broughton Street',…
Monday, 03 April 2017
SpurtleThere is almost no-one in Edinburgh who does not complain about the Council.Whether it is refuse collection (or non-collection!), the state of…
Sunday, 19 March 2017
Dear SpurtleI'm sick of the squabbling as to whether or not Scottish people want another Independence referendum.Politicians have vested interests…
Wednesday, 01 March 2017
Dear Spurtle Could CEC not consider the imminent St James Centre gap site and the old Royal High School in tandem, then decide to put the hotel(…
Monday, 20 February 2017
Dear Spurtle With regard to your misgivings over redevelopment of the Ross Bandstand and surrounds (9.2.17;15.2.17), recent comments from John…
Thursday, 09 February 2017
Dear Sir/Madam I was fascinated to read the item anent setted streets in the most recent Spurtle (Issue 259).  What neither Edinburgh…
Tuesday, 24 January 2017
Dear Spurtle Is the newly released T2 Trainspotting film as big a disappointment to railway enthusiasts as the original? John Eoin…